14.4 C
Tuesday, July 5, 2022
HomeAll ArticlesSecurity Vetting Appeals Panel appointments

Security Vetting Appeals Panel appointments

(London Post) The Prime Minister has announced new appointments to the Security Vetting Appeals Panel. The Prime Minister has approved the following new appointments to the Security Vetting Appeals Panel: Mrs Helen Dearden, Ms Philippa Hardwick, Mr Stephen Hawker CB and Mr Iain McGrory have all been appointed with effect from 1 July 2015. They will replace Mr Clive Tucker CB, Mr John Alpass, The Very Revd Dr Graham Forbes CBE and Sir James Hodge KCVO CMG, who are retiring from the Panel.

The Security Vetting Appeals Panel was set up in 1997 to provide an independent means of challenging a decision to refuse or withdraw national security vetting clearance. It is available to hear appeals from individuals in government departments, the armed forces and other organisations, or their contractors, who have exhausted the internal appeals process and remain dissatisfied with the outcome.

The Chair and Deputy Chair are serving or retired members of the judiciary, with other members having relevant experience at a senior level both inside and outside government. They form a panel from which 3, including the Chair or the Deputy Chair, are normally selected on each occasion when the Panel is required to hear an appeal.

These appointments have been made in accordance with the Code of Practice for Ministerial Appointments to Public Bodies. Appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

    WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com