13.2 C
Monday, June 27, 2022
HomeAll ArticlesInaugural Equality Award Ceremony Celebrates Equal Rights Activists

Inaugural Equality Award Ceremony Celebrates Equal Rights Activists

(London Post) On Thursday 16 July  Professor Sir Bob Hepple QC, expert in the fields of labour, equality and human rights law will recognise the two equal rights activists: Mauro Cabral, co-Director of the Global Action for Trans Equality and Pragna Patel, Director of the Southall Black Sisters with the inaugural Bob Hepple Equality Award.

The award has been established by the Equal Rights Trust to celebrate equal rights activists who have received little prior recognition to further support to their work in advancing equality.

Over the last 20 years, Mauro Cabral has played an invaluable role in promoting the dignity and rights of trans and intersex persons in Latin America and the world. He was at the centre of the elaboration of the Yogyakarta Principles on the Application of International Human Rights Law to Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity adopted in 2007 and was crucial in the process leading to the enactment of Argentina’s Gender Identity Law in 2012.

In contrast, Pragna Patel has rigorously campaigned and offered practical support to women escaping domestic violence in the UK. She has led women’s organisation Southall Black Sisters to make extraordinary strides in the promotion of the rights of black and Asian women. Some of the group’s key successes include challenging the legal definition of provocation and changing immigration rules which trapped women of non-British origin in abusive marriages.

During the event, Sir Bob Hepple will present the award to the winners and Shami Chakrabarti CBE, Director of Liberty and Dr Dimitrina Petrova, Executive Director of the Equal Rights Trust will give keynote addresses on liberty and equality in the UK and worldwide.

The event will be held at Reed Smith Law Firm, London on July 16 from 6.30 – 10pm.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

    WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com