15.6 C
Friday, August 6, 2021
HomeAll ArticlesAll Blacks seal championship

All Blacks seal championship

New Zealand clinched the 2014 Rugby Championship with a bonus-point 34-13 win over Argentina in La Plata.

The All Blacks ran in four tries through Ben Smith, Israel Dagg, Julian Savea and TJ Perenara, while Beauden Barrett kicked 14 points.

The hosts’ only try came at the death, with Horacio Agulla crossing.

The victory made it four wins and a draw from five games for New Zealand and saw them wrap up the title with the final round of fixtures still to come.

It was their third consecutive Rugby Championship crown.

Barrett got the All Blacks up and running early on with two penalties before Smith crossed for the first try in the 12th minute.

The ball was worked out wide to Dagg, who burst clear and then found Smith on the switch to score. Barrett added the extras.

Nicolas Sanchez got the hosts on the board with a penalty, but New Zealand hit straight back.

Dagg and Smith were again heavily involved, this time the latter turning provider as he accepted a Malakai Fekitoa offload before helping the ball on to Dagg to score down the right.

A successful conversion had New Zealand 20-3 up.

Another Sanchez penalty made it 20-6 at half-time.

In the 57th minute Savea added a third try, bouncing off three opponents before powering over.

Barrett’s kicking was again flawless.

And 12 minutes later Perenara grabbed the bonus-point try which would seal the title, adding the finishing touch following a great break from Jerome Kaino.

Barrett’s conversion made it 34-6.

Argentina continued to show spirit and crossed two minutes from time, Agulla crossing before Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias added the conversion.

But it was far too little too late as the All Blacks were already home and dry, the championship secure.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

    WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com